Polar H10 ECG reading

There are some reliable and affordable Polar H10 ECG reader apps available on the App Store: I’ve been using one for a couple of years. However, I recently needed to incorporate an ECG capability into an app that already uses the Polar H10 for RR Interval monitoring, but the documentation online for Polar ECG is scarce and sometimes incorrect. Polar provides an SDK, but this covers many different devices and so is quite complex. Also, it’s based on RxSwift - which I prefer not to use given that my existing app uses native Swift async and concurrency approaches. I therefore offer this description of my solution in the hope that it helps someone, somewhere, sometime.

The Polar H10 transmits ECG data via Bluetooth LE as a stream of frames. Each frame is length 229 bytes, with a 10 byte leader and then 73 ECG data points of 3 bytes each (microvolts as little-endian integer, two’s complement negatives). The leader’s byte 0 is 0x00, bytes 1 - 8 are a timestamp (unknown epoch) and byte 9 is 0x00. The H10’s sampling rate is 130Hz (my 2 devices are a tiny fraction higher), which means that each frame is transmitted approximately every half second (73/130). However, given the latencies of bluetooth transmission and the app’s processing, any application of a timestamp to each data point should be based on a fixed time interval between each data point, i.e. milliseconds interval = 1000 / actual sampling rate. From my testing, the time interval between successive frame timestamps is constant and so the actual sampling interval is that interval divided by 73 (the number of samples per frame).