Drag Gesture on Entity with PhysicsBodyComponent is not behaving properly (glitching)

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Swift and VisionOS development in general, so please go easy on me.

Currently, I'm looking at a sample project from a WWDC23 session that uses RealityKit and ARKit to add a cube entity to a scene via tap gesture. The link to the sample project is here.

Instead of adding a cube, I changed the code to adding a usdz model instead. Here is my code:

func add3DModel(tapLocation: SIMD3<Float>) {
        let placementLocation = tapLocation + SIMD3<Float>(0, 0.1, 0)

guard let entity = try? Entity.load(named: "cake-usdz", in: realityKitContentBundle)
        else { logger.error("failed to load 3D model")
            return }

// calculate the collision box (the boundaries)
        let entitySize = entity.visualBounds(relativeTo: nil)
        let width = entitySize.max.x - entitySize.min.x
        let height = entitySize.max.y - entitySize.min.y
        let depth = entitySize.max.z - entitySize.min.z

// logger.debug("width: \(width), height: \(height), depth: \(depth)")

// set collision shape
        let collisionShape = ShapeResource.generateBox(size: SIMD3<Float>(width, height, depth))
        entity.components.set(CollisionComponent(shapes: [collisionShape]))

// set the position and input types to indirect
        entity.setPosition(placementLocation, relativeTo: nil)
        entity.components.set(InputTargetComponent(allowedInputTypes: .indirect))

let material = PhysicsMaterialResource.generate(friction: 0.8, restitution: 0.0)

entity.components.set(PhysicsBodyComponent(
            shapes: [collisionShape],
            mass: 1.0,
            material: material,
            mode: .dynamic
        ))

contentEntity.addChild(entity)
    }

This works fine so far.

But when I tried to add a Drag Gesture to drag the added entity around. There are weird glitches happening with the model. The model jumped up and down, and even rotating around it self sometimes.