Update World Anchor using object anchor

Hi. I display buildings in mixed immersive view. Right now the building appears in relation to the person when the view is opened. (world anchor)

To position the building precisely, I want to use object tracking. Set up a project following the wwdc object tracking session. That works well sort of...

With an object anchor, the 3D object related to the anchor disappears as soon as the Tracked object is out of view, and with the big objects you don't get the chance to look around.

I figure I need to give my 3D object a world anchor, and only have that world anchor update if a change in the object anchor is detected. how do I do that?

Preferable using the tools in Reality Composer pro (or very well explained, as I am new to code)

Answered by Vision Pro Engineer in 800133022

Hi @Ilskov

Your proposed solution will work. Here's how to implement it.

In Reality Composer Pro, create a new component named ObjectToWorldComponent and add it to the entity with the object anchor component. Don't forget to save the file.

In Xcode, open Packages/RealityKitContent/Sources/RealityKitContent/ObjectToWorldComponent.swift and remove the name property; we won't be using it.

Create a system (for more information on Entity Component System see Understanding RealityKit’s modular architecture) to transfer the contents and location of your object anchor to a world anchor.

struct ObjectToWorldSystem: System {
    // Create a private component to hold component properties
    // we don't want to expose in Reality Composer Pro.
    struct PrivateObjectToWorldComponent: Component {
        let worldAnchorEntity:AnchorEntity
    }

let query = EntityQuery(where: .has(ObjectToWorldComponent.self))

public init(scene: RealityKit.Scene) { }

public func update(context: SceneUpdateContext) {
        let entities = context.entities(matching: self.query, updatingSystemWhen: .rendering)

for entity in entities {