How to handle adding and removing items from NavigationSplitView

Hello, I'm new to app development and have a question that I have been searching all over the place to find an answer to. I have followed Apple's own guides and don't know how to move around the strange issue I am experiencing.

I have a project using NavigationSplitView and have the code setup so that it navigates through an array of items. The two issues I am experiencing that I hope to find some help with are:

1. I would like to be able to have my add button, instead of presenting a sheet, just navigate to a new item within the NavigationSplitView. This would be more natural for the type of data application I have created. At this time I create the item with a .sheet modifier and then the item is created and added to the array. However, I then have to tap on the newly created item to get it to be selected. Is this how SwiftUI should be working?
  2. Whenever an item is deleted from the list, and it was the last item selected or the last item in the array, the NavigationSplitView will continue showing that remaining item. The only way to get it to show an empty content screen is to force close the application and then reopen it.

Since this is my first time posting, I'm not sure what information would be helpful, but would be happy to provide anything which could be of assistance. :-)

Hi @erfinb ,

1. I would like to be able to have my add button, instead of presenting a sheet, just navigate to a new item within the NavigationSplitView.

After appending the object in your add button, programmatically set the selection variable to be the last item in the array. (example below)

1. Whenever an item is deleted from the list, and it was the last item selected or the last item in the array, the NavigationSplitView will continue showing that remaining item.